Change in the Weather

Every year at this time the weather starts to change. The air stays warm but it starts to get heavy and a little on the muggy side. This time of year has always inspired me and made me feel safe. Something I can’t explain it is just what it is.

For the last ten years I have felt this change and started to prepare to go to the desert. In Nevada there is a region called the Black Rock Desert where once a year thousands of people get together for an art festival like no other. For one week you live in a city made up of camping gear, dust, artiest and the most wonderful of freaks.

Each of us go out there for own reason and come home with a new perspective of our existence.

This year for the first time in ten years I am not going. I feel the draw, my mind is storming out all kinds of ideas and everyone I know are making plans to go away. Even my two girlfriends who I camp with are planning a trip this year. Though they are going to Italy and Grease, their plans for adventure have me wanting to roam on my own.

For me. I am trying to save my money. I want to pull my boat (home) out of the water to fix it up and do some needed repairs. My goal is to fix it up and list it with a broker. It is a great solution to the high cost of living in the bay area.

Funny when I first started writing this blog, a few weeks ago, feeling the loss of not going to the desert I did not know my world was about to change in a big way.

Jim, my boyfriend, got a job as an on site manager for an apartment building in the Nob Hill area of San Francisco. We went from our everyday plans of saving money and getting the boat out of the water to rearranging our entire lives. Life has gone from crazy to well…

Though it all I still miss the journey to the desert. I miss having the creative outlet. I miss getting all my camping gear out and washing it down again (even thought I did that when we got home last year) and again trying to get it ready to be filled full of another load dust to bring home and store for the year.

So I guess this blog is to just let all of you who are going to the desert know, I wish I was going with you and well to have a wonderful time.

4 Responses to “Change in the Weather”

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm within the work you
    write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say
    how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  2. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles all the time along with a cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

