In Honor of the British Invasion

50 Years ago today the face of Rock n Roll Changed.
.
About 10 years ago my sister, my nephew and myself were driving from the San Fransisco area to the Santa Cruz area. My nephew was around 10 or 11 years old at the time and just getting into rap music. Which needless to say my sister and I were a little disappointed in since up to that point he was enjoying the same alternative rock we were into. My Nephew was sitting in the back seat of my sisters car with his headphones on ignoring us.
.
My sister and I started to discuss music and the progression of rock. We talked about how when we were younger our musical influences were not only our folks who were into Big Band and Classical but also our two older sisters who taste ranged from mellow rock to psychedelic rock and everything in between. We touched on how the two of us were into Punk and the subsequent music of the 1980’s and 1990’s.
.
In the course of the conversation I happened to mention the British Invasion in the 1960’s. At which point my nephew threw off his head phones and asked with exclaimed horror “The British Invaded America in the 1960’s ? ! What war was that? How come they did not teach us about that in school?”
.
My sister and I just had to laugh. I told my nephew if he was going to eavesdrop to at least keep up with the topic. We explained to him how the history of music and the face of Rock n Roll had changed in 1964 when the Beatles hit America with a bang. We told him how music and the industry changed from that moment on.
.
Happy Anniversary Ringo and Paul !
Leave a Reply

